Pratt Severn Best Student Research Paper Award

**Electronic Submission Page**



Nomination Information

The Best Student Research Award was established in 1972 and is administered by the ASIS&T Information Science Education Committee. Since 1996 it has been sponsored by Pratt Institute, School of Information and Library Science, on behalf of the late David Severn, a 1968 Pratt Alumnus.

1. Nature of the Award

1.1 The award shall consist of round-trip travel expenses and full registration for the ASIS&T annual meeting, not to exceed $500, to be paid by Pratt Institute; a certificate; and possible submission of the paper for publication in the Journal of the Association for Information Science (JASIST).

1.2 If runners-up are designated, they will receive letters of "honorable mention," signed by the ASIS&T President, but shall not share in the award.

1.3 Travel reimbursements will be made 4-6 weeks after receipts are submitted to HQ.

2. Purpose of the Award

2.1 The purpose of this award is to encourage student research and writing in the field of information science.

3. Eligibility

3.1 Any student in a Masters degree-granting institution can submit a paper. Doctoral theses are not eligible.

3.2 Papers submitted must fall into the scope of JASIST and must be endorsed by a faculty sponsor for submission to the contest.

3.3 Papers submitted should be original manuscripts (not previously published) and should not be submitted to other publications or groups while they are being considered by the Jury.

4. Administration

4.1 The Best Student Research Award is sponsored by the Society-at-Large and is administered the Information Science Education Committee.

5. Nominations

5.1 Nominations shall be submitted electronically by June 15.

5.2 In summary, the nominations package should include:
(a) A cover letter, stating

  • the author's name, address, and academic affiliation; and
  • that the attached paper is being submitted for the Best Student

Research Award;
(b) The paper, carrying no author identification; and
(c) No more than two letters of endorsement from faculty sponsors.

5.3 Previous year's nominations may be considered by the Jury.

6. Jury Committee

6.1 The Best Student Research Award Jury is composed of five members, appointed by the Chair of the Information Science Education Committee for a staggered two-year term. The Jury Chair is one of the voting jurors and is appointed by the Chair the Information Science Education Committee.

6.2 Members of the Jury may not be reappointed to a second two-year term.

6.3 Educators should be included as jurors.

6.4 If a member of the Jury is also an endorser of a nomination for this award, the Chair of the Information Science Education Committee must replace her/him as juror by appointing another member to the Jury Committee.

6.5 In the absence of qualified nominations, the Jury may act as a nominating committee by soliciting additional nominations and extending the deadline for nominations.

7. Selection of the Awardee

7.1 The content of each paper shall be appraised in terms of technical competence in information science, significance of information science findings, originality, and clarity of expression.

7.2 The degree of compliance with "Instructions for Contributors," found in the Journal of the Association for Information Science, regarding format, style, and organization shall also be judged.

7.3 The maximum number of points that can be given to a paper is 100. The highest score for each of the evaluation criteria is:

  • Technical competence in information science - 18;
  • Significance of information science findings - 18;
  • Originality - 18;
  • Clarity of expression - 18;
  • Compliance with JASIST instructions - 10;
  • Style - 9; and
  • Organization - 9.

7.4 Each voting juror assigns points to each nomination, based on the criteria used to evaluate it, and transmits the scores for each paper to the Jury Chair.

7.5 The Jury Chair totals the points from all jurors, and the winner is the paper with the highest total score, with an average score of at least 80 points. In case of a tie, the nominees involved should be re-evaluated.

7.6 The Jury shall make one award or none, but reserves the right to designate runners-up, if the quality of the entries so merit.

7.7 The Jury Chair shall communicate the jury's decision to the ASIS&T President, the Chair of the Awards and Honors Committee, the chair of the Information Science Education Committee, the Editor of JASIST, and the ASIS&T Executive Director.

7.8 The Jury Chair shall provide a 50-250 word abstract, stating why the award was given. This abstract will be used to publicize the award. Material for this abstract can be taken from the voting rationales provided by the members of the jury.

7.9 The Jury Chair shall submit the nomination packets and the results of jury deliberations to ASIS&T Headquarters, after selection of the awardee has been completed.

7.10 The ASIS&T Executive Director shall notify the author of the winning paper and her/his nominator, in advance of the ASIS&T annual meeting.

8. Presentation of the Award

8.1 The award shall be announced and presented to the winning author by the Jury Chair at the banquet of the annual meeting of the Society.

9. Publicity

9.1 The award shall be publicized in the Bulletin of the Association for Information Science and Technology and the Society website. Press releases may be sent to the winner's academic institution. Publicity is the responsibility of ASIS&T Headquarters.

10. Deadlines

10.1 Appointments to the Jury Committee shall be made in advance of the award year and not later than the start of the ASIS&T annual meeting.

10.2 Papers must be electronically submitted to ASIS&T Headquarters by June 15. All papers submitted shall be acknowledged upon receipt.

10.3 Selection shall be made and the ASIS&T President, the Chair of the Awards and Honors Committee, the Editor of JASIST, and the ASIS&T Executive Director shall be notified by 60 days before the start of the ASIS&T annual meeting.


[Approved by Board: 10/31/91][revised 5/95][revised 10/96]