2013 Award Winners

The coveted and prestigious ASIS&T awards represent the greatest recognition and respect professionals may afford their colleagues.  Selections of awards recipients were made after thoughtful and thorough consideration by appropriate committees or official bodies of the Society.  These awards are presented at the Annual Awards Luncheon held at the ASIS&T Annual Meeting.

Congratulations to all the winners! 

National Awards
Award of Merit Carol C. Kuhlthau, Rutgers University
Seeking Meaning: A Process Approach to Library and Information Services
Best Information Science Book Human Information Interaction: An Ecological Approach to Information Behavior, Raya Fidel, University of Washington
John Wiley Best JASIST Paper Wu, Ling-Ling, Huang, Mu-Hsuan, and Chen, Ching-Yi for Citation patterns of the pre-web and web-prevalent environments: The moderating effects of domain knowledge
Pratt Severn Hilary Zelko, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Reasoning About Relevance
ProQuest Doctoral Dissertation Sebastian K. Boell, Theorizing Information and Information Systems
Research in Information Science Susan Herring, Indiana University
James Cretsos Leadership Award Chirag Shah, Rutgers University
Thomson Reuters Doctoral Dissertation Proposal Scholarship Kaitlin Costello, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill 
Investigating Information Seeking and Disclosure in Online Support Groups for Chronic Kidney Disease
Thomson Reuters Outstanding Teacher Carole Palmer, University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Watson Davis Beata Panagopoulos, Suffolk University
History Fund Research Grant Award Kalpana Shankar, Indiana University and  
Kristin Eschenfelder
, University of Wisconsin-Madison
History Fund Best Paper Award Xiaohua Zhu, University of Tennessee
New Leaders Award Houda El mimouni, Rhiannon Gainor, Emad Khazraee, Liya Deng, Irene Onyancha, Brandi Loveday, and Hans-Christoph Hobohm

Chapter Awards
Chapter of the Year European Chapter
Student Chapters of the Year Simmons College and University of Denver

Special Interest Group (SIG) Awards
SIG of the Year History & Foundation of Information Science (HFIS)
SIG Member of the Year Judit Bar-Ilan (SIG MET)
SIG Publication of the Year SIG III's 30th Anniversary Commemorative Publication