Conference Contribution Awards

For the 3rd year in a row, ASIS&T will be introducing awards for 2012 annual conference submissions! We are acknowledging and honoring the tremendous contribution that you will have made to the success of ASIST2012.

Best Paper Award will be presented to the author(s) of the best research paper presented at the conference.

These awards will be judged by a separate awards committee, based on a short list developed by the Program Committee.

New Leaders Award

2012 WinnersJonathan Colman, Jonathan Dorey, Catherine Dumas, Tamara Heck, Fidelia Ibekwe-SanJuan, Dorothy Porter, Elizabeth Rolando and Yin-Leng Theng.

Annual Meeting Awards

ASIS&T presents several awards at the annual meeting. 

General Awards

Award of Merit: Michael Buckland, University of California at Berkeley
Watson Davis K.T. Vaughan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Thomson Reuters Doctoral Dissertation Scholarship: Lori McCay-Peet, Dalhousie University, "At the Intersection: Investigating the Qualities of the Serendipitous Digital Environment and the Serendipity-Prone Person"
Thomson Reuters Outstanding Teacher: Dietmar Wolfram, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Research in Information Science: Kalervo Jarvelin, University of Tampere, Finland
James Cretsos Leadership:  Naresh Agarwal, Simmons College 
Best JASIST Paper: Sukomal Pal, Mandar Mitra and Jaap Kamps, "Evaluation Effort, Reliability, and Reusability in XML Retrieval." JASIST 62(2): 375-394 (2011)
ProQuest Doctoral Dissertation Jaime Snyder, Syracuse University, "Image-Enabled Discourse:  Investigating the Creation of Visual Information as Communicative Practice"
Pratt Severn: April Lynne Earle, St. John's University, "Design of an Application Profile for the St. John's University Oral History Collection"
Book of the Year: Modern Information Retrieval, by Ricardo Baeza-Yates and Berthier Ribeiro-Neto 

Chapter Awards

Chapter of the Year: European Chapter
Student Chapter of the Year: San Jose State University

SIG Awards

SIGs of the Year: Education (ED) & Metrics (MET)
SIG Member of the Year: Karen Miller (SIG ED)
SIG Publication of the Year: SIG AH & SIG VIS, April/May 2012 Bulletin