Photo courtesy New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau


ASIS&T Conference Contribution Awards

For the 2nd year in a row, ASIS&T is introducing awards for 2011 annual conference submissions! We are acknowledging and honoring the tremendous contribution that you will have made to the success of ASIST2011.

Best Paper Award will be presented to the author(s) of the best research paper presented at the conference.

These awards will be judged by a separate awards committee, based on a short list developed by the Program Committee.

New Leaders Award

2011 Winners:  Caroline Whippey, VIvienne Houghton, Eugenia Kim, Julia Martin, Chysta Meadowbrooke, Chaoqun Ni, Jacob Ratliff, and William Senn

Other Meeting Awards

ASIS&T presents several awards at the annual meeting. 

General Awards
Award of Merit, Gary Marchionini
Watson Davis, Robert Williams
Thomson Reuters Doctoral Dissertation Scholarship, Amber Cushing
Thomson Reuters Outstanding Teacher, Howard Rosenbaum
Research in Information Science, Christine Borgman
Best JASIST Paper, Jim Jansen and Soo-Young Rieh
ProQuest Doctoral Dissertation, Shelagh K. Genuis
Pratt Severn:  Brooks Breece
Book of the Year, Atlas of Science, Visualizing What We Know, by Katy Börner

Chapter Awards
Chapter of the Year, New England Chapter
Chapter Member of the Year, Sarah Buchanan, Los Angeles Chapter
Chapter Innovation, New England Chapter
Chapter Event, Potomac Valley Chapter, "All Things e-Readers"
Chapter Event, European Chapter, "ASIS&T European Workshop 2011"
Student Chapter of the Year, Simmons College

SIG Awards
SIG of the Year, Digital Libraries (DL)
SIG Member of the Year, Diane Neal, Classification Research (CR)
SIG Publication of the Year, SIG International Information Issues (III) Newsletter
See for more details