Officers/Committee Convenors

Officer Position Descriptions and Duties

Officer Biographies

Chair – Kevin Comerford

Kevin is an Assistant Professor of Librarianship and Digital Initiatives Librarian at the University of New Mexico Libraries. He is based in the Center for Southwest Research where he has developed a variety of open access and digital libraries applications. Kevin also serves as the chair of the University Libraries research data management initiative. He holds a Master of Information Science degree from the University of North Texas and a Master of Fine Arts degree from Texas Christian University. Previously he was the Group Manager for Media Content Management at Microsoft Corporation in Redmond, Washington (1995-2008), a systems developer for the Sixth Floor Museum in Dallas (1995) and the Visual Resources Manager for the Dallas Museum of Art (1990-1995).

Chair-Elect – Joan Beaudoin

Dr. Beaudoin is an Assistant Professor in the School of Library and Information Science at Wayne State University where she teaches courses on metadata, digital libraries, digital preservation and cataloging. She holds a BFA in art history from Massachusetts College of Art, a MA in art history from Temple University, a MLIS and a Ph.D. in information studies from Drexel University. Prior to her position at Wayne State University she managed and provided access to analog and digital images to support faculty research and teaching. Her areas of research consist of metadata, digital libraries, digital preservation, information behaviors, museum informatics, technologies used to support humanities scholarship, and visual information access and retrieval.

Communications/Webmaster – Tina Jayroe

Tina is SIG DL’s Communications Officer and (acting) Webmaster for SIG DL and has been an ASIS&T member since 2007. She is the Systems Supervisor at Aurora Public Library, Colorado. She received her MLIS from the University of Denver and is an ASIS&T 2010 New Leaders awardee. Her dream came true when she presented at SIG/CON in 2010 (see and she loves Noam Chomsky.

Treasurer/Secretary – Lizzy Rolando

Elizabeth (Lizzy) Rolando is the Research Data Librarian in the Scholarly Communications and Digital Curation Department at the Georgia Tech Library. She graduated from UCLA in 2012 with a specialization in Informatics, and her research was centered on the data practices of science and technology researchers.

Membership – Lyne Da Sylva

Educated first at the University of Ottawa and then in Montréal and Geneva, Lyne has a multidisciplinary background (in Mathematics, Computer Science, Linguistics and Computational Linguistics).  She is now Associate Professor at the École de bibliothéconomie et des sciences de l’information (EBSI) at the Université de Montréal. Prior to this, she spent several years doing research and development work in Natural Language Processing (NLP), including four years in the private sector.

Past Chair – Marisa Ramirez

Marisa is the Digital Repository Librarian at Cal Poly and is primarily responsible for the development and implementation of the DigitalCommons@CalPoly, a digital repository that provides online open access to scholarship and research produced by Cal Poly faculty and students. The repository also provides access to relevant documents created by administrative offices, departments and programs at Cal Poly. Marisa served as 2010-2011 SIG DL Treasurer, as 2011-12 SIG DL Chair-Elect, and as 2012-2013 SIG DL Chair.

Committee Conveners (appointed positions created in 2012-13)

Student Session Committee for AM 2014 convened by Holley Long
Webinar Committee convened by Ngozi Okoro
SIGDL Newsletter Committee convened by Gena Chattin

Comments are closed.