Minutes of SIG/CR Planning Meeting, 1993

Minutes of SIG/CR Planning Meeting, 1993

SIG/CR Planning Meeting 10/25/93

Candy Schwartz gave report of SIG Cabinet Meeting and general
discussion.

     SIG Best Publication Award to SIG/CR.

     Karla Petersen is interested in surveys of SIGs.  

     Possible to get some money for a speaker.  Look at subsidies.

     Take advantage of using volunteers.  For example, the
     preparation of proposals for awards and nominating committee.

Workshop discussion.

     Publicity--Will use electronic means and post in journals and
     magazines.  Journal postings must be sent now to meet the
     deadlines.

     Production of proceedings.
          Decided that the presenters will get a copy before the
          Workshop.  Attendees will get them on site.

     Elin will join in the review of the papers.  Papers are to be
     sent to Raya's address.

     Discussion of developing a theme to the Workshop.  Would look
     into developing a theme from the abstracts received.

Proposals for 1994 Annual.  Also consider joint sponsoring with
other SIGs. **DUE DECEMBER 15th**

     Efthimis Efthimiadis (iacxene@mvs.oac.ucla.edu), 
          User understanding and use of knowledge structures in
          electronic databases.

     Hanne Albrechtsen, ((FAX) (453)-284-0201 (Voice) (453)-158-
     6066)
          Philosophy of classification.

     Susanne Humphrey (humphrey@lhc.nlm.nih.gov), 
          Predicting the success of knowledge-intensive information
          systems: methodologic issues in testing and evaluation.

     Barbara Kwasnik (bkwasnik@suvm.acs.syr.edu), 
          Knowledge elicitation techniques.

     Phil J. Smith (phil+@osu.edu), 
          Interface designs.

     Clare Beghtol (beghtol@flis.utoronto.ca), 
          Terminologies.

Attending: 
Hanne Albrechtsen, ((FAX)(453)-284-0201 (Voice)(453)-158-6066)
Clare Beghtol (beghtol@flis.utoronto.ca), 
Joseph A. Busch, ((FAX) (310)-451-5570 (Voice) (310)-451-6343)
Ellen Crosby (n400023@univscvm.csd.scarolina.edu), 
Efthimis Efthimiadis (iacxene@mvs.oac.ucla.edu), 
Raya Fidel (fidelr@u.washington.edu), 
Susanne Humphrey (humphrey@lhc.nlm.nih.gov), 
Elin K. Jacob, 
Barbara Kwasnik (bkwasnik@suvm.acs.syr.edu), 
Mary Micco (micco@grove.1iup.edu), 
Matt Moore (lud@well.sf.ca.us), 
Candy Schwartz (cschwartz@vmsvax.simmons.edu), 
Ray Schwartz (schwartz@panix.com), 
Phil J. Smith (phil+@osu.edu), 
Paul Solomon (solomon@ils.unc.edu), 
Mickie Voges Piatt (mvoges@mail.kentlaw.edu)

    Top of Page | Back to SIG/CR Home Page | Send Questions or Comments.

    Ray Schwartz / schwartz@panix.com

    Last Updated on July 19, 2014
    URL: http://www.asis.org/SIG/SIGCR/min93.shtml