ASIST AM 04 START ConferenceManager    


Studying Scientometric Collaboration - A special Panel. Part 1: Methodology for Investigating Collaboration; Part 2: Collaboration in Action: Research Papers (SIG Metrics & International Society for Scientometrics and Informetrics)

Henry Small, email: henry.small@isinet.com; Elie Geisler, email: geislermmt@comcast.net; Chaomei Chen, email: chaomei.chen@cis,drexel.edu; Jian Qin, email: jqin@syr.edu; Ji-Hong Park, email: jpark12@syr.edu; Sofia Liberman, email: jrussell@servidor.unam.mx; Blaise Cronin, email:bcronin@indiana.edu; Caroline Haythornthwaite, email: haythorn@uiuc.edu; Kelly L. Maglaughin, email: diane.sonnenwald@hb.se; Diane H. Sonnenwald, email: Diane.Sonnenwald@hb.se; Concepcion S. Wilson, email: c.wilson@unsw.edu.au; Mari Davis, email: m.davis@unsw.edu.au; Caroline Wagner, email: C.S>Wagner@uva.nl; Linda Marion, email: l.marion@unsw.edu.au

Presented at ASIST 2004 Annual Meeting; "Managing and Enhancing Information: Cultures and Conflicts" (ASIST AM 04), Providence, Rhode Island, November 13 - 18, 2004


Abstract

This panel's goal is to explore the nature and role of scientific collaboration from differing perspectives, for example, from scientometrics, informetrics, sociology of science, and social network analysis. Scientific collaboration is frequent and an important aspect of the ongoing development of science. Scientometric methods alone cannot provide the full picture; they must be combined with other approaches particularly when causal mechanisms are to be investigated. To understand the contribution of collaboration, it is crucial to find ways to link data about social networks,fields,organizations and countries with scientometric and bibliometric indicators of collaboration, such as co-authorships, citations, and institutional affiliations. Data relating to differences among disciplines, about the influence of research policies, research support and funding mechanisms for science are important aspects that should be taken into account and linked to scientometric and social indicators. Social relationships among peers and colleagues, the building of social networks within institutions and their staff, also need to be integrated into analyses. To cover this breadth of work, the Panel is divided into two separate sessions. Part 1 includes papers advocating new methods and approaches to research design with discussion focused on how far quantitative methods can take us in the exploration of scientific collaboration and on ways of integrating qualitative evidence from the social aspects of collaborative work. Part 2 follows up that discussion by presenting research papers that have used innovative designs and which provide new insights into collaboration from various standpoints. ASIST's overall theme of managing and enhancing conflict and culture is encapsulated in this Panel, with its focus on the culture and contradictions or conflicts between disciplines and fields, between qualitative and qualitative approaches, and between individual and institutional drives for cooperation and competition. Participants engaged in research on collaboration, whether in science or other arenas, would learn much from this dual special session format, first about the range of methods currently being explored, and second from results gained from using integrated methods.


  
START Conference Manager (V2.47.4)
Maintainer: rrgerber@softconf.com