Bulletin, February/March 2011

First ASIS&T Conference Contribution Awards

ASIS&T 2010 conference chairs Cathy Marshall and Elaine Toms offered a couple of new awards this year to honor the tremendous contributions made by the hundreds of scholars and practitioners who submit their work for consideration as part of the technical program. 

Beth St. Jean, Soo Young Rieh, Elaine Toms and Yong-Mi Kim Conference co-chair Elaine Toms, second from right, enjoys the moment with three of the Best Conference Paper winners: Beth St. Jean, Soo Young Rieh and Yong-Mi Kim. Not pictured is Ji Yeon Yang.
Cathy Marshall and Margaret E.I. Kipp Conference co-chair Cathy Marshall, left, honors Margaret E.I. Kipp, accepting the Best Conference Poster award for herself and Soohyung Joo.

In this first effort, awards went to researchers for the Best Conference Paper and Best Conference Poster, for which there was a tie.

Best Conference Paper honors went to Soo Young Rieh, Yong-Mi Kim, Ji Yeon Yang and Beth St. Jean, all of University of Michigan, for their paper, A Diary Study of Credibility Assessment in Everyday Life Information Activities on the Web: Preliminary Findings.

Justin Brinegar and Robert Capra Justin Brinegar, left, and Robert Capra are the authors of one of two Best Conference Posters.

The first of two Best Conference Poster honors went to Margaret E.I. Kipp and Soohyung Joo, both of University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, for their poster, Application of Structural Equation Modeling in Exploring Tag Patterns: A Pilot Study. The second honorees were Justin Brinegar and Robert Capra, both of University of North Carolina, for their poster, Understanding Personal Digital Music Collections.